Is it ok to date your co-worker?

 

NO it is not ok! It is very risky to date someone a co-worker. I have seen more failed relationships that begin in the workplace and end up a disaster. One of my good friends and former co-workers once told not to shit where I eat. That saying couldn’t be more true. Getting personal with your co-workers in any way can be lethal for your career. Gossip and rumors is the main problem that arises in the office when one share personal information with co-workers. Keeping things professional and private is the best thing to do especially if you are seeking promotion.

Most couples don’t last no matter where they meet so why take that risk at work? I am more traditional in regards to relationships. I would date someone I worked with if one of us leaves, that is respectable. I believe that the reason why people get involved with their co-worker is because it is easy. Let’s be honest who wants to do some work and put themselves out there? It is frightening right? Yes, of course but one has more chances of losing than winning in this situation. We all need our own territory. If I get involved with someone I don’t want him to be too close to me all the time. I need a break to miss him.

Some people tell me that it is hard to meet people outside of work. It can be hard but one must try. You never know, you could be grocery shopping and you can meet someone. If you are adventurous and have a social life eventually you will meet someone outside of the workplace. Barriers will always be there but if you really want something you must go get it. You won’t get something for nothing. If you are thinking about dating your co-worker how will you know that it is going to succeed? What will you do if it doesn’t work out?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

